View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 21 Oct 2014, 17:43

Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
HELP please, problems connecting to AR AR.Drone 2.0 
Just flips over

New post HELP please, problems connecting to AR AR.Drone 2.0
hi,
I was hoping someone could help please. I'm having problems connecting to my AR AR.Drone 2.0 from my Andoid phone. Firstly, I'm an electronics engineer with a lot of experience of IT stuff too, but I'm having real problems with this and have messed around for over 2 hours at a time!

I just got my AR.Drone today, first and second times I powered up, connected and used it no problem. Since the it's been a PITA!

I've tried everything including power cycling the AR.Drone, reseting it, reseting my phone, turning wifi on/off/on, trying 2 different phones, trying 2 apps (AR free flight and AR AR.Drone flight), turning off all wifi in the house, putting my phone to flight mode etc etc. There are several stages where it falls over. Here are my issues;

WIFI settings, sometimes AR.Drone network says out of range, even though I can see it with the wifi analyser

When not out of range, I will try to connect, it'll just keep saying scanning, connecting, disconnected

If/When it finally connects, it'll say obtaining IP address, then drop out again.

If it ever obtains the IP address and actually connects, when I load free flight, the 'piloting' button is greyed out, when I click it, it says wifi not available, connect to your AR.Drone.

If this button ever works, it will go to the loading page then do nothing.

When I use AR AR.Drone flight, it just says 'waiting for AR.Drone nav data' and does nothing.

Very occasionally, after 2 hours or so, when the battery is nearly already run down, it will work. It'll connect and fly great. I can even power down, recharge the battery and it'll connect again fine. But then the next time, it's back to it's usual self, not connecting.