It is currently 02 Sep 2015, 17:54

Dronetec F450 Build

Other discussion of non-Parrot drones. 3drobotics, DJI, Team Black Sheep, QAV250, DIY drones... etc.
 
Posts: 2106
Joined: 06 Oct 2012, 14:37
Location: Worcester UK
Multicopter Type: AR Drone V2

Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by ScubaSteve » 05 Mar 2013, 12:12

A package has turned up :D

P1000909.jpg


P1000910.jpg


I will onbox this more later, however there wont be too much progress this evening as I have some QuadMods to build and also the most important footie game of the season so far to watch. Why does this all happen at once!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
http://www.dronetec.co.uk << QuadMod RC Control for your Drone
http://www.facebook.com/dronetecgb << Like Us on Facebook

Image

 
Posts: 4113
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 02:32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Multicopter Type: AR Drone V2

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by DaZa » 05 Mar 2013, 12:20

Droollllllll :)

Image

 
Posts: 2106
Joined: 06 Oct 2012, 14:37
Location: Worcester UK
Multicopter Type: AR Drone V2

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by ScubaSteve » 05 Mar 2013, 12:22

Thanks

Forgot to add its using the Naza-GPS MC
http://www.dronetec.co.uk << QuadMod RC Control for your Drone
http://www.facebook.com/dronetecgb << Like Us on Facebook

Image

 
Posts: 4113
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 02:32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Multicopter Type: AR Drone V2

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by DaZa » 05 Mar 2013, 12:24

You suck Steve :)

But I'll prob go the Naza+GPS myself once I tune this frame in and get some flight time in and launder some more funds away from the w$fe :)

 
Posts: 2106
Joined: 06 Oct 2012, 14:37
Location: Worcester UK
Multicopter Type: AR Drone V2

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by ScubaSteve » 05 Mar 2013, 19:56

Found myself a bit of time to make a start on this

First up I soldered the ESC's to the solder points on the bottom plate, the bottom plate is a PCB and acts as power distribution to save extra wires. I also added a blob of araldite to each point for strength and to protect the live points from potential shorts

P1000923.jpg


Here is some of the other bits, the Naza MC and GPS unit, the Spektrum AR 7010 RX and up top you can see the stock parrot prop next to the DJI prop for size difference!

P1000928.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
http://www.dronetec.co.uk << QuadMod RC Control for your Drone
http://www.facebook.com/dronetecgb << Like Us on Facebook

Image

 
Posts: 1704
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 17:11
Location: Welland Ontario Canada
Multicopter Type: Quad-Copter

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by Maverick107 » 05 Mar 2013, 20:10

Yes mine will be too Steve hopefully another week! :D
So I know where to get help when I need it :lol:

 
Posts: 179
Joined: 21 Feb 2012, 17:13
Location: UK & Ireland

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by Drone Shack » 05 Mar 2013, 22:29

Nice One Steve! enjoy the build :)

Best Wishes
The Drone Shack Team
www.droneshack.co.uk
www.facebook.com/droneshack

 
Posts: 1704
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 17:11
Location: Welland Ontario Canada
Multicopter Type: Quad-Copter

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by Maverick107 » 05 Mar 2013, 22:42

I will post mine later don't want to rain on your Parade Steve, can't wait to see your new one in action!

 
Posts: 2106
Joined: 06 Oct 2012, 14:37
Location: Worcester UK
Multicopter Type: AR Drone V2

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by ScubaSteve » 06 Mar 2013, 01:17

Done some more tonight as i was pissed off with the football i wanted to forget about it before bed.

Got the legs on and the voltage unit soldered in

P1000930.jpg


Got the Naza MC in position aswell as the AR 7010 RX, all ESCs plugged into the Naza MC, also soldered in a UBEC ready for the battery delete cable to be made from. Motors attached.

P1000932.jpg


GPS and top plate on, only done 2 screws per leg as it will probably have to come off again, god knows why they made the GPS lead so long

P1000934.jpg


Underneath you can see where I have located the voltage unit, and also the satellite rx, on the opposite side of the main rx

P1000935.jpg


This thing is much heavier than the AR drone already lol
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
http://www.dronetec.co.uk << QuadMod RC Control for your Drone
http://www.facebook.com/dronetecgb << Like Us on Facebook

Image

 
Posts: 2106
Joined: 06 Oct 2012, 14:37
Location: Worcester UK
Multicopter Type: AR Drone V2

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by ScubaSteve » 06 Mar 2013, 01:34

750gr without battery lol
http://www.dronetec.co.uk << QuadMod RC Control for your Drone
http://www.facebook.com/dronetecgb << Like Us on Facebook

Image

 
Posts: 4113
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 02:32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Multicopter Type: AR Drone V2

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by DaZa » 06 Mar 2013, 01:51

I've aimed for a takeoff weight of around 1.1kg for mine :)

Looking very very sweet there Steve!

 
Posts: 1704
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 17:11
Location: Welland Ontario Canada
Multicopter Type: Quad-Copter

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by Maverick107 » 06 Mar 2013, 02:49

Yes it's a thing of beauty I knew you wouldn't be able to stay away from it tonight :lol:

 
Posts: 4113
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 02:32
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Multicopter Type: AR Drone V2

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by DaZa » 06 Mar 2013, 02:58

Already informed the wife that the minute these packages from HobbyKing arrive she wont see me for a week :)

 
Posts: 1704
Joined: 08 Dec 2012, 17:11
Location: Welland Ontario Canada
Multicopter Type: Quad-Copter

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by Maverick107 » 06 Mar 2013, 03:53

Too dam funny! :lol: :lol: :lol:

 
Posts: 2106
Joined: 06 Oct 2012, 14:37
Location: Worcester UK
Multicopter Type: AR Drone V2

Re: Dronetec F450 Build

Unread post by ScubaSteve » 06 Mar 2013, 23:18

And shes finished :D

Took me bloody ages to get it setup in the software wizard, hours of pulling my hair out, got it in the end using the right combo of reversing the channels.

I am using a DX6i with this, which traditionally you cannt use the 3 pos switch to switch between GPS modes, however I have mixed the switches to achieve this full functionality on a 2pos switch TX.

I have also set a fail safe up, so if the TX loses range it automatically returns home, I had to use the preset fail safe setup on the AR 7010 RX to achieve this.

Heres two types of battery im using, i may have to switch to the 10inch props for the 4000mah, its quite large.

P1000939.jpg


Also ordered and soldered onto the end of my main battery loom some XT60 connections

P1000940.jpg


And here she is fully built up, the loose wires at the front are for the go pro which i havent installed yet, you will notice I have also installed the ImmersionRC FPV 600mw TX too.

P1000937.jpg


Take off weight, without camera is 998grams so not bad at all, that will be about 1050gr with the cam.

Last but not least a very brief test vid, shows the LED light change when i switch between various GPS modes and failsafes, and then I take off about an inch, but that is all im doing inside :lol: awesome, feel the power in my hands, cant wait for the morning light.

Hd - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BxqNsTT2oAA&hd=1


Direct link: http://www.youtube.com/v/BxqNsTT2oAA
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
http://www.dronetec.co.uk << QuadMod RC Control for your Drone
http://www.facebook.com/dronetecgb << Like Us on Facebook

Image

Next

Return to Other Drones and Copters

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests